Waiting..

Have you ever set a goal that had the potential to change the entire course of your life?

I know I have. And on multiple occasions.

I’ve set all kinds of grand and ambitious goals that, if followed through with, could have changed my life for the better.

And you know what? (I’ll be honest with you)

Nearly every goal I set winds up on some ‘to do’ list that never gets done. I’ve had plenty of opportunities for positively changing the course of my life, but it never happens.

Why?

Waiting.

Waiting to start. Waiting for some precondition. Waiting until I know more information. Waiting until I have more time.

One truth I recently stumbled upon is this:

“Waiting for all the green lights is waiting for the skies to turn purple on the third Wednesday in November..There is never perfect timing and waiting for ‘someday’ just wastes time. Someday is today. Today is now.” (MJ DeMarco -The Millionaire Fastlane)

Wow. Now that’s a swift kick in the pants!

Who would’ve thought that waiting for ‘just the right moment’ just doesn’t work? I guess we’re all guilty of this illusion; that if we just ‘had more money‘, or ‘had more experiencethen we would…(fill in the blank).

Well, you guessed it.. We’ll never get ANYWHERE with that mindset!

So how about we challenge ourselves today? Let’s start NOW on our journey. Let’s take one step in the right direction today. It could be as simple as just setting your goal, or brainstorming specific action steps to achieve your goal. Maybe you already know what you need to do, but just haven’t ‘gotten around to it‘ yet.

Whatever the case may be, move forward one pace today. (And do it now!)

Leave a Reply

