Do it anyway

Ever had any of those annoying tasks on your never-ending to-do list’ that just never get done?

I know I have.

And it’s terrible. There seems to be this constant war going on within my mind until I get the darn thing done.

Yet we prolong the pain. We wait until later. We think: “I’ve worked hard enough today, maybe I’ll feel like doing it tomorrow.”

And the war goes on.

Because, (secretly), we really DO want to just get it done, mark it off the list, and be through with it.

But, we make these simple tasks seem so extraordinarily HUGE and SCARY and difficult . We make them out to be much worse than they really are. We cause ourselves more grief by putting them off, than if we would have just tackled them right away!

Then, even worse, we STILL put them off! And the longer we put them off, the longer they get pushed to the side to make room for simpler, less scary tasks. What a cycle, huh?

What if we tried this instead?

The next time you ‘don’t feel like‘ doing something, acknowledge the fact that you just don’t want to do it. Be 100% honest with yourself: “I know I need to do ___, but I just don’t feel like it!”

Then do it anyway.

No more whining. No more complaining.

Don’t feel like it?

Acknowledge those feelings, then do it anyway.

======================================================

I’d love to hear your thoughts, so feel free to leave a comment on the site!

Leave a Reply

