Random Acts of Kindness

DSC_0146

Today I decided that I would act out one random act of kindness. I didn’t know what ‘kind act’ I would choose, but by the end of the day I had to get out of my comfort zone and do SOMETHING for someone else. That was my challenge to myself.

I laid down some personal rules:

  • I will get out of my comfort zone.
  • I will form my act of kindness out of the goodness of my heart and not out of feelings of guilt or that I ‘should’ do something.
  • My act of kindness must involve a stranger. (I can not know the person receiving my act of kindness!)
  • I promise not to tell others about my random act of kindness.

So, that’s it. Four basic rules (or guidelines) I will go by to accomplish my challenge.

DSC_0175

To be honest, I felt nervous after deciding that I was going to do this. I felt scared…about my own challenge to myself! But, nevertheless. I had to do this. Because deep down, I wanted to do this.

I finally found the perfect opportunity and got up the guts to follow through on my challenge. I wanted to do something nice for someone. To make someone feel special, noticed, important. To just let someone else know that they matter, even when they don’t feel like they do.

I vowed not to tell anyone about my act of kindness, but let’s just say that a sweet old lady was quite dumbfounded and speechless when the act of kindness found her. She was surprised! Happy. Relieved. But even more so…she was extremely shocked.

I was glad she didn’t try to give back my act of kindness or reject it.  Her exact words were “I don’t understand. Why did you do that?” I tried to play off my act of kindness because she wasn’t supposed to know it was me, but she found out anyway. I just gave her a confused look and told her “I don’t know what you’re talking about…Have a great day!” I simply gave her a big grin and went on my merry way.

There was something a bit unsettling about all this. What bothers me is the fact that she just couldn’t understand “Why? Why would someone do this for me?” The real question should be: “Why not?!” The real question should be “Why don’t we all do this more often?”

DSC_0122

So that is my challenge to myself: I have placed on my calendar a monthly random act of kindness day-so that no matter what, I will do one random act of kindness one time every month.

Over time, I hope to increase from one day a month to maybe twice a month, and from there: once a week! Then…once a day!

(Okay, I might be getting ahead of myself here. But I am totally serious about this! )

We can only make the world a better place by doing better things in it ourselves. I hope I can improve the world with my existence. Will you choose to do the same?

Thanks for reading! And thank you for being a part of my life. I love you friend!

Peace & Love,
❤ Brittany

One thought on “Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Amen sis…It feels good and warms the soul to do for others instead of self, and I believe you make the world a better place everyday that you are in it, along with your sister and brother…at least in my world “definitely” 🙂 Watching you over the years even from a little girl, you have done good to those around you whenever opportunity presents itself, and you have a loving spirit full of compassion, and longsuffering which has become a way of life for you. Our Lord and master said it best, that loving your neighbor (fellow man) is the greatest of all things and without it we are nothing. It is a true blessing and a strength to have attained these qualities so keep up the good work and thanks for sharing…”Love never Fails”…… Love you and God bless, daddio

Leave a Reply

