Secrets to Success (I Dare you to read to the end)

DSC_0146

I’m a complainer. I complain about everything! I complain in my head to myself. I complain about others. I complain out loud to myself, and I complain to others.

After having said that, it would come as no surprise to you that the past couple of days I’ve been…complaining.

Mostly about my recent business endeavors not panning out like I wanted them to. In my (opened-just-this-month) business, MaidInNWA, we’ve been looking for quality cleaners for a month. I researched some local cleaners, contacted them and finally found some potential cleaners who I met over coffee last week.

I traveled 15 miles to meet them, paid for their drinks, and spent an hour or so talking with them. After hearing about the work opportunity, they told me they were excited! They were excited about the opportunity to work with me. And I was excited back.

I had a great feeling about them too. I thought they would be a perfect fit for our business!

And then I received the message.

Today.

They notify me TODAY telling me that they don’t want the job.

So, back to the drawing board.

Back to square one.

I’ll be honest here. I started feeling sorry for myself a bit. I got really frustrated and just wanted to quit. After investing so much time, effort, energy, and money into these people, they turned out to be just another dead end. I felt kind of gypped.

I had this expectation, and then reality hit. Dream destroyed.

That leads me to tell you this:

I got a real kick in the pants today.

A big one.

My husband showed me these videos I’m about to share with you. They are truly amazing. I’ll say it again because you might have missed it: These videos are AMAZING! The message has forever changed my life. Already.

They’re about the secrets to success, and I encourage each and every one of you who are reading this right now to watch both videos ALL THE WAY THROUGH.

And then share. (With everyone!)

You don’t want to miss this! If you strive for success in anything: your marriage, your grades, your business, whatever- watch this. The first video is 9 minutes long and the 2nd video 5 minutes. That equates to 14 minutes of your time. Spend a little less time watching T.V. tonight, or playing Candy Crush Saga so you can watch these videos.

I’m serious! You’ll be glad you did.

Eric Thomas-Secrets to Success (part 1) (9min): 

Eric Thomas-Secrets to Success (part 2) (5min): 

If you’re not able to watch or don’t like watching videos, here are some quotes from Eric’s videos that stood out to me in a powerful way.

None are more important than the rest, so here goes:

“If you really want to be successful, you’ve got to be willing to give up sleep. That’s how bad you’ve gotta want it. Listen to me, you’ve gotta want to be successful so bad that you forget to eat!”

“Sleep is for those people who are broke. I don’t sleep. I got an opportunity to make a dream become a reality.” – 50 Cent when asked “When do you sleep?”

“Don’t cry to give up, cry to keep goin! Don’t cry to quit! You’re already in pain, you’re already hurt! Get a reward from it! Don’t go to sleep until you succeed!”

“All men are created equal, some work harder in pre-season.”

“When I went to college guys were way smarter than me, 4.0’s, 3.0s, they went to the Ivy League Highschools- most of them are not doing what I’m doing. Why? ‘Cause it’s not about where you come from. It’s about heart. You come to a place where being smart ain’t enough. You gotta have heart.”

“The most important thing is this: You’ve gotta be able, at any moment, to sacrifice what you are for what you will become.”

“The problem is, you ain’t never felt no pain before- you soft! It’s a soft generation! You quit on everything! You quittin’ and you ain’t even tryin’!”

“Pain is temporary. It may last for a moment, for a day, or even a year. But eventually, it will subside. And something else will take it’s place. If I quit, however, it will last forever.”

“I was homeless for 2 years. And the problem with most of you is that you’ve never felt no pain before. You’re spoiled. Some of ya’ll spoiled, bottom line. Your parents have done everything for you. You ain’t never had to do nothin’ for yourself, you’re spoiled. We’re gonna keep it real tonight, some of you are spoiled brats! Everytime you ever got in trouble somebody in your house got you out of it…Some of you have never learned to grow up. So everytime somethin’ gets hard, you quit, you call momma. I DARE you to take a little pain. I dare you.”

“At the end of pain is success! You ain’t gonna die, because you felt a little pain!”

“You’ve got to give it everything you got.”

So that’s it. Those are the secrets. It’s all about heart. It’s about keepin’ on keepin’ on when the going gets tough. It’s about fighting through even when you feel like giving up. It’s about feeling pain, and taking notice, and then moving forward anyway. It’s about looking your fears straight in the eyes and charging at them, full speed. It’s determination. It’s sacrifice. It’s heart.

With that, I’d just like to say: Thank you Eric Thomas. Wherever you are out there, thank you! May you be blessed in your time on this beautiful earth. You have forever changed my life in a positive way, so I thank you.

What are your thoughts on success? Feel free to comment below with your answers!

Peace & Love,

Leave a Reply

