Teaching English in Japan

night-market
So, I’m thinking about teaching english in another country. I’ve always liked the idea, but never took action on getting a teaching certificate or applying without one. Until yesterday. I don’t even know exactly where I’d like to teach, but I’ve applied to various places in hopes that they will see my potential and give me a chance! I love new cultures. I love languages. New foods. Interesting people. New sights.

Ahh, I feel like a kid again just imagining going out again on travel abroad. I use my imagination and creativity to come up with the wildest stories of what could happen or what might come out of it. I grow so much from travel, so I look forward to that aspect as well, learning what true compassion means, and applying that to my daily life.

I just now (literally like 5 minutes ago!) finished an application to teach children english abroad in Japan. They required a 500 word essay that I wrote in like 20-30 minutes. I thought I’d share it on here for all to see, if you’re at all interested in understanding why I would like to go abroad to live and work and experience daily life.

Now, without further ado:

Why I Want to Teach English to Children in Japan

Teaching abroad is an exciting adventure. It’s a time where the instructors can get out of their home country, and experience many new things. There are several reasons for people to desire working abroad, but I’ve chosen 3 main reasons for myself. I hope to be chosen to teach English abroad in Japan in order to give back to the community and help children, to submerse myself in Japanese culture and share my own culture with others, and lastly to explore the natural beauty Japan has to offer.

First, I want to give back to the community and help children. My purpose in life is to serve a higher purpose than myself. I believe I am supposed to help people in a big way, and I can do that through teaching abroad. I can improve the english skills of Japanese children with the skills I grew up with and have refined over time. I enjoy giving. I believe it is vital to life, to give more than we take. I feel it just makes the world go round a bit nicer.

Next, I’d love to submerse myself in Japanese culture and share my culture with others. And by that I mean the food culture, the music culture, and the language culture. I follow a strict vegetarian diet, so much of the japanese food culture interests me very much! I hope to try many ethnic foods including vegetarian gyoza, sushi, and soba noodle dishes. When I visited Thailand a couple of years ago, I enjoyed going to the open food markets and buying local food from the street vendors. I hope to see what the markets are like in Japan, as well as support the local vendors and the Japanese economy with my purchases. I love the music of Japan. The sound of the Koto is so relaxing. I imagine it would be a wonderful sound to meditate to. (I should try that soon!) Foreign languages interest me a lot, especially asian languages. I have studied Mandarin Chinese, and Thai both, and would greatly enjoy learning Japanese as well!

Lastly, I can’t wait to explore the beauty Japan has to offer, including it’s forests, mountains, and the waters. I am a person who has a deep love and respect for nature, connecting with it in a very deep and beautiful way. Forests are my sanctuary and have so much to offer to us humans. I would love to explore the forests of Japan, and view the mountains stretching high into the sky. I’d also like to visit the sea and ocean, as they have many meditative qualities to them. The sound of the waves crashing upon the shore feeds my soul. Since Japan is an island, and fully surrounded by water, I believe it would be such a sight to see! What an experience it would be to view all the beaches and coastal lines as far as the eye could see!

Concluding, I understand that Japan is a very unique and sacred place on this earth, and I would enjoy more than anything to be able to explore it, while at the same time giving pieces of myself back to the community, to the children, and to the school. I am excited for what this life has to offer me, and I believe that being able to experience Japan in a real way by teaching english to children would be an unforgettable experience of a lifetime. Thank you.

Thanks for reading! I love you. Please feel free to share any thoughts that come up for you after reading, I’d love to hear!

With a ton of gratitude and love,
❤ Brittany

Leave a Reply

