Dinosaurs, Donuts, and Security Blankets

CAM00681 copy

I met a boy named Ben. He was an outgoing little fellow. Maybe 11 years old. Short. Squatty. Bright personality. And talkative. Very talkative.

He invited me to come to his Jurassic World Party. It wasn’t his birthday party, but a celebration.

I asked him what it was going to be like. What I should expect.

He tells me “There will be donuts.. dinosaurs.. but not real dinosaurs.. cake.. decorations…and would you like to come?”

I can tell after further observation that the party is not exactly “real.” It was definitely real to Ben though, so I played along.

I told him “Maybe, I would love to come! We’ll have to see..”

He seemed content with my answer. After all, I didn’t say no.

His grandpa later shows up telling me that he has to go look for Ben’s toy dinosaur. He told me that Ben left it somewhere, and it wouldn’t be good if he couldn’t find it.


And that got me to thinking.

We as humans get attached easily, don’t we? To things. People. Places. Ideas.

And the older we get, the stronger that attachment grows.

We all have our own dinosaurs in our lives. Our security blankets.


I’m on vacation with my family this week and I’ve realized some things about myself. (Family is good for that. They seem to know how to annoy or upset you at just the right times 😉 )

No, but what I’ve realized is that my life is FULL of security blankets.

One of my biggest security blankets is having healthy food that I feel comfortable eating. I noticed that I get anxiety if I don’t have, or don’t know where I will get the food that I need.

So, to prevent the anxiety, I bring food with me everywhere.

If I have to go to a new restaurant, cafe, or grocery store, and don’t know what to expect, and don’t know if my needs will be met, I start feeling the twinge of anxiety creeping up.

The twinge of discomfort. The stress of being out of my element. Out of my comfort zone.

And it doesn’t feel good.

I literally bring a jar of water with me everywhere I go.

CAM00682

  • I fear that the water somewhere else won’t be “good enough.”
  • That I’ll dehydrate myself if I don’t bring it with me.
  • That I won’t find water wherever I go.

There’s always that nagging voice in the back of my mind saying “What if I can’t find water?”

And my chest starts to tighten. I get anxious. I feel nervous. Uncomfortable.

It’s as if I live in a constant state of emergency. Living in a state of “What if?”

I could literally question everything I do, all day long, and get no where.

We all could.

We all do sometimes.

(And that’s not necessarily a bad thing, but good to realize and be aware of.)


So this leads me to my challenge for the day. To you. To myself.

I challenge all of us to think about our own personal security blankets. What are the dinosaurs in our lives?

Let’s ask ourselves why we have them. And are the serving us?

Because if they’re not, why keep them around?


Today’s the day to start unraveling those blankets.

Then go outside. ANd live a little.

‘Cause if not now, when?

Thank you for reading. Thank you for showing up today and being present.

Thank you for being you.

I love you.

❤ Brittany

Leave a Reply

