Disempowering Beliefs — Will you tolerate them any longer?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

CAM00774 copy

(Writing this on August 2, 2015)

So I had a slight melt down last night. No, let me re-word that, I literally BROKE DOWN last night. Like, all barriers. Gone.

Like, I was super vulnerable, and super scared and I didn’t know how to stop the whirlwind of emotion that was coming upon me.

I’ve been reading lately that it’s best to just sit with my feelings and emotions that I’m feeling instead of push them away.

To stop resisting uncomfortable or painful feelings and to really sit with them and FEEL them.

Recognize that they exist. That they are coming up for a reason.

So. I sat.

And I cried.

No, in fact, I BALLED MY EYES OUT.

And my best friend was there to hold me all the way through it. ( ❤ Thanks Nathan, you're a great friend & husband.)

I told Nathan what I was feeling and it went something like this:

“I’m scared. Like, really scared. I’m afraid that I’m never going to be grounded. I just want to be grounded. I want to know that I can support myself. That I’ll have enough money to provide for myself. I want to know that I’ll be able to eat my next meal. I’m afraid of not succeeding. I don’t believe in myself. I’m afraid I can’t do it. Afraid of failing and never being independent.”

That’s when the coach in him came out. Almost instantly.

He questioned me about what I really want in life.

And I had no idea. I had NO IDEA what I wanted for MY OWN LIFE!

He told me he had recently read in Anthony Robbins’ book Awaken The Giant Within about disempowering beliefs.

He gave me some suggestions on how to overcome these feelings and emotions that were coming up for me.

How to battle my fears and conquer them once and for all.

He went to the bedroom and retrieved his book. Then he read from it, helping me to gain clarity on the exercise I was about to do that would FOREVER CHANGE MY LIFE.

He had me get out a sheet of paper.

Draw a line down the middle.

Label one side of the column: Empowering Beliefs

Label the other side: Disempowering Beliefs

Then, set a timer for 12 minutes.

To write out ALL beliefs I had, empowering and disempowering both, and once the timer goes off to stop writing.

SO I did it.

And a lot came out.

More disempowering beliefs than empowering, but I had a good amount of both.

Then he had me circle the top 3 most empowering beliefs I had written down.

He then had me circle the top 2 most disempowering beliefs.

Then, I was to set another timer, for 2-5 minutes and write out why my 2 disempowering beliefs were false. (Because they most certainly always will be.)

This is called “kicking the legs out from underneath our disempowering beliefs.” Kick the legs out, then turn it around.

Then I was to write out why the exact opposite is true, and even truer for myself.

For example —

My top 2 disempowering beliefs were:

1. I can’t take care of myself.
2. I’m not good enough.

So I wrote out why BOTH BELIEFS are totally & absolutely preposterous.

FALSE.

For your eternal benefit, I decided to type out and publish here in this blog post an exact word-for-word copy of what I wrote on my paper yesterday. If you’re interested in knowing what came up for me, read on!


If I don’t eliminate these ridiculous beliefs from my life, I will be broke, dissatisfied with my life, and will not be proud of myself. I deserve MORE for my life. I am SO INCREDIBLY smart, intelligent, and ABLE to do anything I could ever dream of or imagine!!

When I get down on myself and believe these thoughts, I take away my inner fire. My drive. My essence and life. I am good enough. In fact I’M MORE THAN GOOD ENOUGH. I’m GREAT! I am enough!!

Reasons that PROVE I’m good enough and can take care of myself:

1. I didn’t know how to play piano with the band, but then I just jumped in and started playing. I learned, on the spot, no lessons! Now I know most of the songs and am SO MUCH BETTER! In fact, I’m starting to sound pretty damn good!

2. I didn’t know how to be a health coach and then I just did it! Like…I did that! I have a business now!

3. I didn’t know how to build a website, but then..BAM! I did it! With no outside help other than internet articles.

4. I was afraid of cutting my hair, but then..BAM! I did it! And now I LOVE it!

5. I didn’t know how to be a vegan and give up all my favorite foods and change my lifestyle, but then once I committed to it, BAM! I haven’t gone back since! And I’m so much healthier for it too!

6. I didn’t believe I could quit smoking and then..BAM! I just DID IT! And I haven’t smoked since!

So let’s turn this around..

I CAN take care of myself! Because I’m JUST GOING TO DO IT.

I AM good enough! In fact I’m MORE than enough! I can do this.


So what are your limiting and disempowering beliefs about yourself?

Will you tolerate these lies any longer, or do you wish to rid them of your life completely?

I challenge you to draw a line down the middle of a piece of paper.

Sit down for 12 minutes and list out on one side of the page your EMPOWERING beliefs about yourself and life, and on the other side list out your DISEMPOWERING beliefs.

Circle the top 2 DISEMPOWERING beliefs and knock the legs out from under them.

PROVE your disempowering beliefs WRONG. Burn them to the ground.

Then turn them around. Write for 2 minutes why the opposite is true. Create EMPOWERING beliefs from the disempowering ones.

Find freedom. Be amazing. Change your life for the better. BECOME YOUR BEST SELF.

I love you!

Kisses and hugs & lots and lots of love,
❤ Brittany

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

