“Another cup of tea, please.” (Part 2)

Hi friend 🙂 Welcome! And thanks for stopping by.

This post is a continuation from an earlier post, “Another cup of tea, please.” (Part 1).

I advise you start there first, then come back 😉 But totally feel free to hang out here for a little while longer! (You might just enjoy it. ❤ )


tea-book

I read in a book today: The Art of Happiness.

And the Dalai Lama spoke to my soul.

He explained that there’s a difference between “happiness” and “pleasure.” Which I’m pretty sure I get the two confused a lot.

So here’s his take on it–

The Dalai Lama says that “True happiness relates more to the mind and heart. Happiness that depends mainly on physical pleasure is unstable; one day it’s there, the next day it may not be.”

So inn response to him, the narrator of the book, Howard Cutler shared a few thoughts:

“On the surface, it seemed like a fairly obvious observation; of course, happiness and pleasure were two different things. And yet, we human beings are often quite adept at confusing the two.”

CAM00795

So after reading a bit, I hopped on over to the computer and started listening to a self-compassion meditation by Dr. Krisin Neff.

I’ve been on a search lately in an effort to find more compassion in my life-

Compassion for other people, animals, the planet, and mainly, myself. So I gave this one a try, and it helped me out.

A lot.

I allowed myself to feel what I felt.

To not fight it.

To allow the emotions of feeling hurt, unloved, and unwanted to be in my body.

I allowed myself to feel compassion towards myself. After all, it is painful going through inner turmoil. My chest starts feeling tense. My breath becomes shallow. My mind races.

I slouch and close off my heart from the world.

I don’t feel safe.

But when I turn inward..that’s when the love and joy start to flow once again..


Stick around for the last part next Thursday! I think you’ll be glad you did 😉


Thank you again friend, for reading! I hope I’ve been able to help or inspire you in some way.

If there’s another way that I can add value to your life, please let me know.

Reach out, ask questions. I reply to every comment. I’d love to hear from you 🙂

With all the love and joy a heart can hold,
❤ Brittany

Leave a Reply

